What am I doing wrong in my analyses?

29 Replies

Hi guys,

I’m relatively new to the world of multifamily real estate investment and I’m struggling to find any deals that come even close to making sense. In order for need to find cash flow in a given property, I often have to bring the purchase price down several hundred thousand dollars lower than what it’s at (e.g. from $600k down to $100k).

This is obviously unrealistic and therefore I feel like I must be drastically over-conservative on some of my calculations.

I have compared my custom-designed calculator to the bigger pockets calculator and it calculates similar values, so I know it’s not a coding error. I’ve confirmed all the mortgage information with my mortgage partner and it seems to pencil out correctly. Rents are based on rental comps in the area and discussions with local property management companies. Likewise, PM fees are based on those convos as well.

That really leaves me with operating expenses and capital expenditures as the two primary areas that are up to interpretation. If I had to guess, I would imagine I’m either over estimating repairs and maintenance or capex, since vacancy is based on similar numbers I see thrown around here.

Assumptions in my calculations:

• - capex: $250/unit/mo
  • - insurance: $3.50 per $1,000 property value
  • - repairs/maintenance: $1/sqft of the property

As you can see in the example attached, the property meets the:

• - 1% rule
  • - 50% rule
  • - 70% rule (example property is priced at $660k on MLS currently)