How Many RE Investors are Engineers?

677 Replies

Is it just me or are about 25% of all real estate investors, also engineers? As an Engineer myself I could be biased but curious if anyone has insight. I know folks usually have professional background like IT, accounting, dr but would be going out on a limb to say engineers cover the majority of all real estate investors?

I did the eng gig until REI proved to be way more profitable. It's paid off in so many ways allowing me to do 'permitted' electrical (took that minor in elect.), opening & replacing walls with LVL beams, HVAC installs, on-demand HW (elect & NG) etc etc. It's a discipline that opened so many cost saving opportunities & you don't get snowed by contractors, home or building inspectors. Biggest job 'permitted' by my town was the complete design, install & wiring/flow rate monitoring of complete fire sprinkler system for a 6 unit. They allowed me 6 months & did it all myself.

But then again I remember our final exams forbade the use of calculators, slide rules were the only device allowed as were card punched software solutions in our lab finals.

I worked with some institutional RE firms in the past and I have to say that some of the smartest people I met were engineers (either in undergrad, grad) who then took on finance in academia or practice. 

I would love for my daughters to take it on as a major. 

Full disclosure - I have an urban planning background...so my viewpoint has little credibility...we are barely smarter than architects!

I worked with some institutional RE firms in the past and I have to say that some of the smartest people I met were engineers (either in undergrad, grad) who then took on finance in academia or practice. 

I would love for my daughters to take it on as a major. 

Full disclosure - I have an urban planning background...so my viewpoint has little credibility...we are barely smarter than architects!