Wholesaling while working with an agent

9 Replies

Hey all,

I'm currently working with a real estate agent to bid on MLS properties in order to fix and flip.

I'm very new to REI, but I would not be opposed to wholesaling.Right now, I'm only focusing on one fix and flip deal at a time.

I do have substantial cash reserves, but I'm looking to successfully complete my first flip before I make concurrent capital outlays on several fix and flip properties.

Wholesaling, it seems, doesn't require such large capital expenditures.

My concern, however, is my agent's commission. If I successfully find a seller and get a property under contract, could my agent's commission potentially wipe out my profit from the assignment?

As of right now I haven't mentioned the possibility of wholesaling to my agent. Truth be told, my mentor (not a fan of wholesaling) keeps telling me to avoid it because "I'm leaving money on the table". I see wholesaling as a hedge (kind of like how mutual funds invest in a variety of asset classes)- a way to mitigate some of the risk associated with the holding/rehab costs of fix and flip properties.

What are your thoughts about the agent's commission? When I assign the contract, would the new buyer be responsible for the commission?

Thanks!

-Patrick

@Patrick M. , the simple answer is that commissions are paid out of the seller's proceeds. One thing I'm not sure about, though, is if you were to assign a contract that was initiated with an agent, does that agent have to represent the new buyer? If not, then your agent would get cut out of the deal completely. I would presume the answer is yes, but would have to defer to others with more knowledge about that.

That being said, wholesaling MLS deals is a pretty poor way to go about that business and most experienced buyers will not take you seriously if you are presenting them with MLS deals. They could easily find that same deal and negotiate it, so why pay you an assignment fee?