WHAT QUESTIONS TO ASK THE SELLERs

13 Replies

Hey guys,

I'm new to wholesaling, tomorrow I'm placing my "we buy houses" signs out and getting the ball rolling. I want to make sure I don't miss anything when the calls start rolling in, so my question for you, is what questions do I need to ask the sellers that call?

I'm not too familiar with how to factor in equity, debt owed, leins, etc.

I understand how to find out comps and general rehab costs, but can someone give me a run down of how a typical conversation would go? And perhaps (greatly appreciated) a list of the need to know questions I must ask in order to be able to make offers?

I would prefer not to hear "if you don't know what to ask, then you're not ready". I am just getting my ducks in a row here and would like a last minute review/ tips before I dive in and do this. I would hate to be on the phone and miss something.

Your help is greatly appreciated!

Hey I have never actually done a wholesale deal before, we currently just buy and hold. I am interested in wholesaling and have been researching it, here is an article on bigger pockets that address some of the issues you asked about.

http://www.biggerpockets.com/articles/3207-talking-to-sellers-asking-the-right-questions

After the pleasantries and you confirming from what source they called you (exactly where was the sign they saw, so you can track your advertising), say "Tell me a little about your property, your situation, so I can better see how I may be able to help you -  why do you need to sell?"