How much of successful wholesaling is sales ability?

5 Replies

I'm listening to podcast 67. Tim Gordon has a sales background and he mentions sales ability as being very important to wholesaling success. 

I would think selling wholesaling would be easier than selling a car, but I'm not in the game (yet). What do you think?

Successful wholesaling is mostly sales/marketing. Of course you also have to know enough about real estate in your market to be able to establish a good ARV (something I'm still learning) as well as enough about contracting/rehab to estimate repairs fairly accurately. But in the end you're helping your buyers find a property that's a good fit for their investment strategy. That's sales. You're also helping sellers find a way out of their home that's favorable to them in their individual situation. Again...sales. Best definition I've heard of sales is "helping people make decisions that are good for them." Whether that be a way out of a house they don't want/need/can't afford...or purchasing a property to further their business goals. Hope that helps!

Originally posted by @Jim Viens:

Successful wholesaling is mostly sales/marketing. 

Would a person with average sales ability be able to do it? Or do you really need the "sales personality" in order to succeed?

Alex i think you are missing part of the picture.  Selling the wholesale is only PART of the sales process when chasing and selling wholesales.  Your sales hat is on the instant you get a phone call and you cant take it off until the money changes hands.

A good salesperson will understand how to shepherd buyers and sellers through the process and how to create great outcomes for all parties involved.  Its not just "selling a car" or "selling a wholesale".  Its the complete understanding of people, relationships, needs, wants and fears.