Is the lawyer going to kill my probate deal!?!?!?!

16 Replies

I recently found a really good deal in my home town. This is a probate deal I am working on. The person who owned the home died and it says in the will that the home must be sold and the money received from selling it will be split between the heirs!

* there are 4 heirs

* the executor of the estate lives outside of the city and so does all the heirs

the ARV is 125k and the repair costs are 2k

I told the executor that I could giver her 60k cash and could close in 15 days. (15k per heir).

The executor told me she doesn't know if she can sale the home.  .... I told her to call her attorney assigned to the probate estate.

DO you think when she talks to the lawyer he will tell her something that would make her back out!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!!?

THIS IS MY FIRST TIME TRYING TO WHOLESALE

First, can you absolutely positively close in 15 days from when they accept your offer?  Will you buy it yourself even if you don't find a buyer?

The key thing the lawyer may say is that there may still be steps that need to be taken to resolve the ownership.  Depending on the ownership structure and the will it may take some time to get this resolved.

I'd hope the lawyer will tell her to consult with a few agents before making any deal. If its worth $125K and needs only $2K work it should easily sell for something much closer to $125K if it was listed on the MLS. Even after commissions these heirs would come out far ahead of your offer. If they accept a $60K offer knowing that its really worth $125K then that's their call. If they do it not knowing any better, then you may hear back from them later.

1. I will not be purchasing the home, I am wholesaling it to an end buyer! I do not have a buyer yet but I am currently telling investors about this. If I don't find an end buyer honestly I will back out of the deal..... I hate to say that but I don't have the funds to purchase it myself