How to approach a seller who thinks their house is worth more than it is?

12 Replies

Hi all,

I'm meeting with a seller today that I got through my direct marketing campaign. This is my first lead. On the phone he told me what he wanted to sell it for. He must be in a delusion because the house is worth $150K less than that. Since I'm still new at this, I decided to take the appointment if only to practice my in-person skills.

What should be my approach with this seller? You could argue my time is worth more than this but I need the practice. 

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Tony

You take him a print out of comps from recent sales.

Start by going over some of the standard questions from the phone conversation "just to make sure I got the info down right." Make sure you hit on what repairs or updates they think the house might need. I'd ask them again what they think their house is worth...then ask them to explain how they came up with that number. I'd also go prepared with info on actual recently sold comps in the area then gently go over those numbers with them. Something along the lines of "Well what I've found in doing a basic market analysis of the area is this..." Then finish with something like "Does that make sense to you?" 

Make it a teaching session. If the lights still don't come on and they won't budge, they're not motivated to sell. Just leave them with your contact info if they ever decide they want to work something out and make sure you ask for referrals.

@Tony Hernandez