closing costs in wholesale deal

15 Replies

This may be a stupid question but I really dont know the answer (I am a newbie). When you find an end buyer, does the buyer expect to pay the closing costs? If not, how do you pass the cost on to the end buyer? Any advice or input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

If it is true wholesale deal (assignment vs double-close) the wholesaler does not typically incur closing costs. As a wholesaler you are assigning, or selling, a contract to the end buyer. The end buyer is responsible for closing costs incurred when completing the purchase. In a double-close situation both you and the end buyer would have closing costs.

:cool:

Makes sense. Thank you for clarifying that for me.

Rich is correct you as a wholesaler don't pay any costs.

If however you're sitting on a property you are trying to wholesale and can't sell it fast enough you can offer to pay for the closing costs out of your assignment fee to entice the end buyer to purchase the property otherwise you don't pay for any closing costs.

Thanks Mr Investor. That sounds like something I may want to do when im running out of time in terms of having the property under contract.

We do double closes all the time and part of our procedures and protocols states the buyer must pay all closing costs.

But the closing cost on a (QCD) Quit Claim Deed are minimal it's about $350 for the first transaction and $150 for each additional.

If the buyer does not go for that then we split it down the middle I always leave room in my prices to cover the closing costs.

The Quit Claim Deed take about 3-5 days to close and you get a wire transfer into your account direct from the title company!

I got into doing wholesale area double closings because I had all my money tied up in another portfolio of mine and this hedge fund company sent a pool of props that I could cherry pick.