Can't find the owners of empty houses

8 Replies

Hello All, I am new to bigger pockets podcasts and forum. I have been a real estate investor for a whole month. 😊 I will be the wholesaler that rehabbers and other investors come to rely on. I love marketing and will stop at nothing to find a deal. That being said, I have found many sad and empty houses that would make great wholesale deals...if I could find the owner. I have the owners name. Checked the taxes, the taxes were paid. I have Googled, looked at all social media platforms, drive by different times of the day to look for neighbors and nothing. Is there a rock I haven't looked under or is it time to just give up on these? I have considered taping a contract to the door. Any ideas? TIA.

It's a numbers game.  If you can't find he owner move on to the next bunch of houses.  You can try mailing to the house.  If the mail is forwarded somewhere your letter will get to the right person.  Also where I am they will show if the property tax bill goes to a different address.  I have found owners that way.

Good Luck!

Have you done any real skip trace reports? You can use find the sell dot com or other skip trace services to find real phone numbers and address.

I would definitely skip trace the owner and try to reach them on the phone.  If you can't reach the owner directly, or the owner is deceased, don't hesitate to call the relatives.  That will make a difference in whether or not you get some deals.