Wholesaling in PA: Need License... Should I steer away?

12 Replies

PA passed a law that To wholesale, you need a wholesale license (cost $500.) In Philadlephia, you need to be a licensed realtor to be a wholesaler...

Pro: With restrictions leads to lower competition overall.

Con: You are obligated to disclaim your role as a realtor and wholesaler. And you need to disclaim the estimated value of the property.

Conclusion/Question: is it worth getting into? Should I just do virtual wholesaling elsewhere? How much does this change the wholesaling industry?

Not looking for ONE answer. Just wanted to strike a conversation and learn from there.

PA isn't the first state to do this and there are many others considering it.

This trend will continue. 

If you plan on actively being in real estate for years to come, getting your license can only benefit you. 

How do I handle disclosures?

"Mr. Seller, I am a licensed real estate agent and not someone who took a weekend bootcamp that just wants to tie up your property without any earnest money and steal your equity. During our appointment we'll discuss a few options to consider, including selling it quickly and in as-is condition, a traditional listing, or maybe something different. How does that sound to you?"

For wholesalers who operate ethically and disclose their role in the transaction up front I do not see a downside to this, other than the minimal additional fee a license will cost. It will only weed out the chaff and make our industry better. 

I agree with @Joe Norman . All these youtube trained wholesalers have been destroying the industry. I'm glad the laws are being passed, but I have yet to see them enforced.

I must have five or so wholesalers contact me each day. One out of twenty is good at what they do. One out of a hundred is good enough to make a decent living.