Anonymity Llc structure

4 Replies

Anyone have experience setting up anonymity with a Delaware/Wyoming Llc? I understand the concept, but not sure on how to officially set up the structure. Is it as simple as filing a manager managed in Delaware?

Disclaimer: I am an attorney, but I am not your attorney. This is not legal advice, just friendly information.

Some level of "anonymity" is possible, but expect some work, cost, and remember the limitations. First, it's only for the public website. Lots of people will have your info - your bank, the IRS, anyone you do business with, and your tenants if you sign the lease. In fact, a new law was just put in place requiring any beneficial owners to report annually to FinCEN. It's tough to maintain anonymity without another person involved, because somebody needs to sign the company registration and file the annual reports, in both the LLC state and your local state. To make it happen, you would probably need more than one corporate entity, using one from out of state in an anonymous state. It's more complicated than simply filing a single form.

@Sean Morrison Right, more than one would definitely be necessary. Have an LLC in the state of the property with the sole member being a Wyoming LLC holding company. The WY LLC is managed by an appointed manager, therefore leaving the members anonymous. The manager could be a member, but officially that's not public. Is this correct, or am I missing something?