Full Time Employee and Landlord?!

22 Replies

Hello,

I am interested to hear from the landlords that have 40hr/week jobs. Specifically ones you can't break free from during the day. My goal is to replace my income with rental cash flow before I CONSIDER leaving my job. If I figure right I'll need 20+- properties.

How many properties do you manage?

How much time do you spend managing them?

At what point would you think about leaving your job or hiring a Property Manager?

Those who have done this, please, chime in.

Thanks!

Taylor

My husband is active duty military and I am a financial Analyst for the county. Neither one of us can "skip" work to take care of our houses. I actually do all the work as my husband is in and out.

I manage 8 properties, 4 are my parents and 4 are my own.

I spend 1-2 hours a month unless I am placing a tenant

At what point would you think about leaving your job or hiring a Property Manager?

I am hoping to leave my job when I make $4,000 a month from the cash flow. My income has always been to acquire to enough properties that my husband can retire from the navy at 44 and not go back. So far we are on track.

You might enjoy my website/blog. It is all about self managing. Since we all work and are long distance it is based on efficiency and property types.

Elizabeth C.
Wow. 1-2 hours a month. When your busy how bad is it?

@Taylor Reichert   I know this post is a couple of months old, but it interested me so I couldn't help but to chime in :). I'll answer in the same manner as @Elizabeth C. 

We currently self-manage 2 (both 4plexes).

Same as Elizabeth, about 2 hours a month, unless placing a tenant. If placing a tenant, it increases exponentially: a month when I have to place a tenant probably took 6 or so hours total between background checks, showings, phone calls, and ad placements.

Our plan is once we have a total of 8 properties cash flowing 550-600/month, we will hire a property manager and quit our jobs.