Duplex with plans to owner occupy for 136,000

11 Replies

I am looking to purchase my first property for 136,000.  I was curious as far as what I should do or if I should even invest in this property 1st or look for something else.  I am currently a teacher in South Carolina.  Any advice welcome!

@Curtis York Jr  

You have not defined your RE investment goal and as such its difficult for anyone to advise you.

As popularly asked, what is your 'WHY'? why do you want to invest in RE? What is the driving force?. Until you properly articulate this, even with $1,000,000.00, you still be in the woods..

NA Onyido 

Thats too easy... My goal is financial independence, I despise having to wake up everyday and work for someone else... I grew up in a family of entrepreneurs and people that work for themselves.  I have a burning desire to be my own boss and put in the hours so that I can set my own schedule and build my own life, not take the safe route only to die old, and broke with regrets.  Also, I want to establish something that I will be able to pass down to future generations.  

@Curtis York Jr  

I would tell you to get the details of the potential purchase together and place it on the Deal Analysis Forum.  You should be able to receive a lot of assistance.

Good luck to you!  I looking for the same thing.  I watch my grandfather and father enjoy financial freedom through real estate investing.  

@Hamp Lee  

Thank you, 

I really want to get involved and finally begin to take control of my life, financial freedom is the ultimate goal!  I bought a couple books and have been trying to piece information together, I feel like the hardest part is simply getting from zero to one!

@Curtis York Jr  

Check out Buy It, Rent It, Profit: Make Money as a Landlord by Bryan Chavis. You won't be disappointed!  It addresses EXACTLY what you're asking for...and more.  It'll help you determine if you've even looking in the right area for a property.  Good read!