How much do lawyers cost?

13 Replies

I keep reading advice to talk to a lawyer or have a lawyer do certain things for you to make sure everything is good (ie for forming your LLC, and other real estate transactions).

However, I have this notion that lawyers are prohibitively expensive for normal people. I have no experience with lawyers.

Can someone give me a brief rundown of how lawyers work? Do they charge by the hour? What are some typical prices?

Many lawyers will give you 30 min to an hour consultation for free because they want a new client. Of course if you come across as total newbie with no money or resources they may not think of you as a very good potential client. Take some time to learn a little before you meet and prepare with good questions. Have a reason for your visit not just to chat. 

I remember the first attorney I worked with and he said "I am expensive" He said he was $250 an hour which I did not think was as bad as i expected. he spent an hour with me and my partner and did not charge us.

Today I get unless I had very specific need in an expensive area I would not expect to pay over $250 hr. I bet a lot of stuff I get done is closer to $100 hr. I get a lot of things done, like documents drafted, for $75 to $200 total, that I thought would cost me more.

Nolo Press has a lot of legal self help books and I recommend them highly. I do not recommend you do your own legal work but knowing more about the law will cut your legal costs. You will also get better service when you can talk to your attorney more intelligently.

We are spoiled. Our attorney & his para-legal are on call anytime & we have often dropped by his office unannounced to get a quick decision. Over the years he has saved us a lot of money & grief.

However, we have never been charged for anything other than a final proceeding per se. BUT we have done a lot of business with him & referred many, many clients.