How to evaluate a Manufactured home deal?

9 Replies

hi! Newbie here... I'm having a hard time figuring out how to evaluate a deal on a manufactured home. Is it the same as a SF home or are there additional costs that I need to take into consideration? There are several on the market in my area that I'm interested in. Has anyone purchased one and if so we're there any surprises in addl costs? This would do be my first purchase as a new investor.

@Danielle Watts

Welcome. 

There actually are less costs with a mobile home than with a stick built house. Read up on this blog about mobile homes for more help.

You can check with local real estate agents who deal with mobile homes for an idea about prices. You can find people in your area who deal with mobiles and ask them. Park managers can give you an idea. At least to get you started.

Once you have done a few, you will have your own basis.

And good luck!

@Danielle Watts

A number of years ago, I looked into purchasing some 4 plexes in Killeen.  I wish I'd done so;-)

I'm currently doing my first Mobile Home flip.  I bought a '74 MH in a park for $1000.  The owner needed to get out of his monthly lot payments so agreed to coming down significantly from his asking price.  I figured it would take me about a month and $3000 to get it back on the market.  It's been 4 1/2 months and has cost me about $15000 so far.  

I believe it will take a month to finish;-).    My plan is to sell it and offer financing.  I've had several inquiries.  Hopefully that means I'll have no problems selling.

I believe you're in a great location for investing in MHs.  But you need to buy right.

As Bill says, costs are less but you can still get carried away as you can with a stick built.  

Harold Anderson

@Danielle and @Harold