Have You Ever Gone "All-In?

19 Replies

I am 25 years old and, thanks to excelling at my commission-based job since graduating 3 years ago, I've been able to save at a pretty solid rate. I own and am house-hacking my primary residence in Chicago, and am pre-approved on another $100k investment property with 25% down at 4.75% with a minimum loan amount of $50k. 

To get down to numbers, I have $30k in savings, $20k in personal stocks I've been toying with since 2016, a few grand in crypto for the heck of it, an IRA, and 401k that I put 10% of every paycheck into that I would never withdraw from (company contributes 1.5% on top of that).

I'm heading to Indiana this weekend to look at some $20-30k SFRs that need around $10k of TLC, and also some duplexes in the $60-100k range. I love the idea of owning something outright off the bat, but it would essentially deplete my current liquid cash savings--has anyone gone through something like this before? If I go the financing route, my initial investment (25% down) would be less skin the game, which feels more comforting, but I would also lose cash flow to the lender. I'm pretty stuck on which is the better move for my first jump in the water. 

Thanks for reading, 

- Derek 

Most problems in RE can be solved with money.  Absolutely, do not go swimming naked in a lake with piranha.  

Enough said.

Find a partner to share the risk and have reserves.

@Jeff Greenberg I appreciate the insight. I can definitely see how wiping my liquid cash could come back and bite me. I am definitely leaning towards the financing option with a smaller down payment. 

In terms of partners, my friends seem to be too busy buying engagement rings or renting swanky downtown lofts right now, and it's proven difficult to find someone willing or able to start this with me.  Most think I'm pretty nuts, unfortunately.

Join us in Oakland next month and maybe meet a partner.