House Hacking Advice

4 Replies

Hi,

I'm looking to purchase a multi-unit town home with and FHA loan. I'm also a new investor. I been marketing for wholesale deals but it's slow motion out in Baltimore and high competitive.

I was never interested in whole but it seems to be a necessity starting out with no capital for what I really want to do (rehabbing, commercial, multifamily). But I do need to move and figure a purchase of a multi family 2 unit home, I live in one unit and have a tenant would be a great start to a real estate portfolio.

The question I have is I've networked with am agent and I know he'll ask for proof of funds. Should I actually start the process of securing the FHA loan which should give me the proof of funds. I'm not exactly how to start this process since I am a newbie investor.

Hey Ellis,