Do you prioritize real estate over stocks?

10 Replies

Do any of you invest in the stock market (i.e. S&P 500) *and* real estate properties at the same time?

If so, why and how do you prioritize both? (Do you invest a percentage of your cash flow into each?)

Clearly the downside is each portfolio will not grow / compound as quickly due to lack of total focus.

On the other hand / upside, if one does well  it can feed the other and if both do well that’s even better.

My motivation for asking is because I am already 100% invested in stock market as I am just learning about REI.

I do not invest in stocks at all. Can they be a good investment? Absolutely. But you have zero control over it. I think real estate has far more tangible benefits and can produce better wealth and income than stocks for most investors.

@Joe Villeneuve may I ask you to describe what "investing in both" looks like for you? How do you decide when to invest in which and what does that look like. Sounds like stocks are an afterthought for you compared to REI but I'd love to get a clearer picture of what the allocation / timing looks like for you.

@Nathan G. I'm actually coming at it from the other side. Passive investing in stocks is all I 'know' and I'm just educating myself now in real estate. 

Thanks @Nathan G. - I actually came across that article in my initial research. Here's one more article that seems to favor stocks over real estate.

Just want to make my intentions clear: I'm not trying to stir debate on whether index funds are 'better' than real estate investing. I think you can make a case for either depending on your experience and interest.

My question is more about whether anyone here prioritizes both and what that looks like.

Originally posted by @Mark Costa :