Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
John Karl goins
Votes |
Looking for any advice. Thank you in advance for any knowledge sh

John Karl goins
Posted Jul 3 2019, 13:27

I am new to real estate and know very little. I would really like to get into flipping and/or rental properties. I would greatly appreciate any advice or knowledge. I have worked construction most of my life and would like to make a move into real estate. I'm hoping to buy my first home within the next year. I like to thank any one for their advice in advance. I'm grateful for your time and knowledge.

User Stats

Votes
Clark Kirkpatrick
Pro Member
  • Contractor
  • Pottstown, PA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Contractor
  • Pottstown, PA
Replied Jul 3 2019, 15:24

Hey John, welcome to the forums!

Having a background in construction is VERY USEFUL in real estate, so that's awesome!

Have you read any books on the topic? BP has some great ones that can give you a good overview of the process of buying, rehabbing renting or flipping. How to Invest in Real Estate is a great book to read if you want a comprehensive overview so you can develop your strategy.

Good luck!

User Stats

Votes
Stephen Akindona
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Memphis, TN
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Memphis, TN
Replied Jul 3 2019, 15:28

@John Karl goins, welcome to the community! I think it is most important for new investors to clearly define their  goals, which will in turn lead you to the best strategy that will best align with your goals. You will get the most mileage out of communities like this one if you can clearly define what you want to do. 

As you gain experience and traction your goals and targets may shift but you need laser focus going in and you need to be dialed into ONE strategy to start! 

Steadily logo
Steadily
|
Sponsored
America’s best-rated landlord insurance nationwide Quotes online in minutes. Single-family, fix n’ flips, short-term rentals, and more. Great prices.

User Stats

Votes
John Karl goins
Votes |