NOT going to college, what should I do?

103 Replies

Greetings BP,

I'm 17 years old rookie investor. I got into real estate almost a year ago, I've read the classics (Rich Dad, Poor Dad; Think and Grow Rich; Richest man in Babylon) and many other more real estate specific books. I devoutly listen to the BiggerPockets Podcast, while I work as a home construction repair guy. And now I've accumulated a little over $2,000 up to this point.

But, that is my problem. I’m sick at this point and not entirely sure of the next best step.

My opinion on college is that it would kind of be a waste of time and money. I think about all I could do with four years and $40,000+ dollars to invest. Also, I believe with the extra time I could spend more time getting the right kind of education ( real estate investing).

But, I still don't know of the best opportunities outside of college. There are trades like plumbing/ electrical; and also beneficial jobs like a salesman or real estate agent. I'd want to move from Denver, to possibly a more cash flow friendly market like Indianapolis or Kansas City. I'm curious to hear what would be the suggested path, and what has working for you guys. I'm grateful for any thoughts, thanks.

Hey Josiah, I did go to college and I feel the education I got was not worth the price and time I paid for it. That being said there are a lot of contractors who are very busy and could use the help. Working with one would give you great experience if you were planning on managing your own properties and would generate a decent income to start with. Get out there and network with people to find opportunities or try looking at online job boards.