• Real Estate Broker
  • St. Louis
Votes |
OOS people, how'd you do it?

Jacob Peistrup
  • Real Estate Broker
  • St. Louis
Posted Aug 12 2020, 07:35

As an agent, I get a lot of OOS people looking at buying in my market -- St. Louis, MO. 

I can't speak from experience when it comes to OOS investing, which seems challenging enough as it is, but a lot of them are doing it as their first investment. So my question to people who have succeeded in doing OOS investing, what do you recommend doing to start? What kind of support do you look for in an agent? What are the biggest challenges and how do you manage them? Do you do everything completely remotely?

Any insight that could help me better serve the OOS community would be greatly appreciated! Thanks to everyone in advance.

User Stats

Votes
Alex Olson
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Kansas City Metro
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Kansas City Metro
Replied Aug 12 2020, 08:18

@Jacob Peistrup Recommend to your clients that they really need to read @david greene's book on out of state investing. You must also tell them that you will have a team ready for them - lender, property manager, insurance, legal if needed, etc...Hope this helps!

Xchange CRE - 1031 Exchange RE Brokerage Logo

User Stats

Votes
Caleb Brown
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Blue Springs
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Blue Springs
Replied Aug 12 2020, 09:13

Biggest thing is establishing a team that communicates, knowledgeable, and your boots on the ground. Also having a defined criteria for a certain area type(A, B, C, etc). Being patient in the crazy market. Also don't be stuck in analysis paralysis, find a good deal and go for it. 

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Jacob Peistrup
  • Real Estate Broker
  • St. Louis
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • St. Louis
Replied Aug 12 2020, 09:39