• Goodyear, AZ
Votes |
Formulating an Aggressive Game Plan Mastermind 🦄

Erin Estes
  • Realtor
  • Goodyear, AZ
Posted Apr 11 2021, 09:55

End Goal: Save the family farm

I've been studying Real Estate Investing since 2002 but have yet to actually get into it. I'd give reasons why, but they'd all sound like excuses. I've been devoted to raising my three children and most days (especially recently as we've made the decision to homeschool during this season with COVID) it's a struggle to get through the day unscathed just to get up early and do it all over again the next day. A recent visit home has relit a long held desire to prepare for the inevitable bail-out of my family's multi-generational farm. I'm estimating it'll take 2M, not including cost to rehabilitate and start fresh operations. It's located in Virginia, but my husband and I are currently raising our family in Phoenix because of his work. He's told me if I can replace his income, he'd quit and we can move back to Virginia. Having been a stay at home mom for over a decade, he knows I've got little hope of that happening. I guess my question for the most experienced investors out there would be, if you had to start from scratch to build either a 2M nest egg or a big enough nest egg to afford a 25% down payment and cash flow from investments enough to cover the debt service and do this rather quickly (2-5 years), how would you do it? I may miss the mark and the farm could be forced to sell before I can actually bail it out, but maybe I could purchase it back after-the-fact. I know you're not supposed to mix emotion with business, but emotion can be a great motivator. This year I've been getting started as a Realtor, thinking that since my youngest was supposed to be in 1st grade this year, I would have time to focus on that business, but Covid turned me into a full time homeschool mom instead. I get up at 5 or 6:30 most days (depending on if I'm too tired and sleep through the first alarm) and we work on s