Partnership Agreements Advice

12 Replies

Good morning BPs,

I'm relatively new to REI and am starting a new venture with some of my military brothers in wholesaling and flipping. We're all very hungry, but want to ensure we start the right way administratively to avoid obstacles down the road. As we begin together, one of the processes, I'm a bit clueless on, is whether it is wise to doctor up a partnership agreement and if there are some specific language to include.

I'd greatly appreciate any information or insight anyone has with starting this grassroot venture with partners. 

@Rod Murray Congrats on starting your RE journey!  My best advise in regards to a partnership is spend the money and hire an attorney to form an entity and operating agreement for you and your partners. This will spell out ownership interest, purpose, etc. It is critical that you do this. An attorney will use all of the necessary language so you won't have to worry about it.  Just make sure it is someone impartial to all parties. 

@Rod Murray the best way is to have an attorney to form the partnership for you in an operating agreement, and have it completely outlined for what you both want and need in the partnership with outs if one or both of you want to end the partnership. The biggest thing you'll hear about is that a partnership goes south and that there was nothing in writing and it created a nightmare and caused headaches to get out along with someone getting an advantage over the other person/people in the business. Do the upfront work so that you do not pay more on the backend, and that goes for you partner(s) too. It will cost a lot more if you have to go after what was rightfully your money/deal/etc. verse getting it completed prior to starting the endeavor.