New Agent with Questions

10 Replies

Hi all!! I am a brand new agent and long time teacher.I am in the process of finding a firm that is the right fit and making it full time.

Question: IS it the norm for new agents to start as buyers agents? Is it an unspoken requirement?

** I am willing to do it of course but prospecting in the phone for buyers 6 hrs a day is not what I envisioned..The one firm ( team) wanta me to handlebonly the buyer side while one person deals with negotiations/ listings and one handles the contract.

Please help a newbie out.:)))

If you dont want to prospect for clients hours every day...this business isnt for you.  Prospecting is how you will spend the majority of your time wether it is for buyers or sellers.

Russell Brazil, Real Estate Agent in Maryland (#648402), Virginia (#0225219736), District of Columbia (#SP98375353), and Massachusetts (#9​0​5​2​3​4​6)
(301) 893-4635

I understand its crucial...but this firm would not allow me to work with sellers.....do open houses.....nor create listings..I just don't know if that is the norm.I understand the prospecting part and its importance.

I would consider it as "training". In any job role you jump into you will have a period in which you won't be truly in the front lines. This will allow you to get a better grasp of the industry and the people you will be working with. Starting out client facing right away would be like throwing you to the wolves. 

I know it's not ideal to start in this situation but in all honesty to some extent everyone in this industry does it. 

THANK you for the good input.:)

Hi Account Closed!

Welcome and congratulations!

There are plenty of brokers and plenty of ways to do things, you have to find what works for you.

In my opinion there are 4 main ways to make it past the 80% + fail out rate:

1) Pay huge amounts of money in marketing to pull in leads, buyers and sellers.