Been working with agent, but recently found off market deal...

8 Replies

Hello everyone.

I have been working with an agent for 2 or 3 months now. She's shown me 9 or so properties and has submitted 3 offers for me. Got one offer accepted and she helped through the inspection process (where we found issues and backed out). It's been a good business relationship. 

I've recently stumbled into an off-market triplex I might move forward with purchasing. Before the numbers discussion comes up with the seller, I'm curious how to proceed in relation to my agent. I certainly don't want to burn any bridges, but the seller isn't using an agent and I feel like I can get a better price and such by handling this without an agent. 

I understand that my agent doesn't get paid until we close on a property and excluding her from the discussion on this potential deal would prevent her from getting paid. So I thought if things move forward with the triplex that I'd give her $500 or $1000 of my own money as a thank you for her help thus far. 

What are your thoughts on this? This is my first time working with an agent and this would be my first real estate purchase so this is new territory for me. I don't want to ruin a business relationship. Your advice is appreciated. 

Thanks,

Nicholas 

@Nicholas Morgan Since it's your first purchase, you're going to want to keep your agent. There will be some of those same pitfalls along the way with this property that you ran into in your last one. Additionally, you'll need someone to walk you through all the paperwork, etc. so why not just pay your realtor the commission so she can do that for you? I had the same issue a month ago when I bought a duplex and though it probably cost me a little more, it saved me time, stress, and helped maintain a great relationship with someone who could potentially steer future investments my way. Just my 2 cents