Client claims things got stolen ...

8 Replies

Hello everyone. I’m working as a sub at one project with multiple phases that seems to drag forever. We have a lockbox set up as usual for the main contractor’s project manager (Saleman), his runner, and of course my crews. Since it’s multiple phases, I’ve been sending multiple crews there to work for the last 2 months. All my crew members’ve been with me from the start (some for 5, some for up to 16 years). Yesterday customer sent a message to the project manager and me claiming at least 4 items got stolen from his house. I’m really stunt, and speechless. We never have that happening on my own projects in the past - not saying my crews are 100% trustworthy because I can’t warranty for anyone else other myself. But I do trust them! It puts us in an odd position where we have multiple parties having access to the lockbox, but my crews are there >90% of the time. I really don’t know how to react to this. The PM suggested client to make a police report, but I think it’s irrelevant. The trust factor is now broken no matter what because the house is not broken in. *sigh*. Not a very good feeling right before the holidays. I think total loss is about a couple of grand. We can certainly give client replacements/money. However, that would also means we admit of wrongdoing. Also on our side, how do you handle the news with crew members?! I guess the best you can do is announcing it. I can’t imagine doing detective work with my guys since no evidence.... How would you possibly stop/reduce the chance of this happening going forward?! Thanks.

This is why you need licensed and bonded people. I would encourage the owner to make a police report and let all your workers know it was reported.

Yes.  Client needs to file a police report.  Let the police handle it.  They may interview your guys, and it may shake loose who took it if it was one of yours.