Well reviewed Roofing contractor 40% wants prepayment

7 Replies

A well reviewed roofing contractor wants a 40% prepayment on an 8K roof job. They have great reviews online. I dealt with a plumbing company for a plumbing retrofit once and they had a similar request, which I obliged since they had fantastic reviews all over the web. In that case they had the best price of anyone and it wasn't that much money so I went ahead and paid it since they had great reviews.

I figured I'd check on the roofing situation though, this seems pretty typical to me. 

I’m a roofer in Texas and I never “have” to have the money up front unless it’s a cash deal. Meaning I am not financing it and the customer is not using insurance. With that said, the roofer could be doing a lot of jobs and if they are a smaller company I could maybe see why they asked for it upfront. Just be sure you have a contract signed so that you have recourse should the roofer take the money and run. I doubt this will happen but I’ve heard horror stories.

Thats standard practice , good faith money , you are basically paying for materials and roof top delivery up front . If you have a contract from a licensed and insured contractor with good reviews you shouldnt have a problem .

Put the shoe on the other foot . How does the contractor know he will get paid by you ?  

The contractor knows hes going to be paid because he can do a Mechanics lean on the property.

I would only do this if I was directly paying the supplier and the supplies were delivered straight to the job site.  

Originally posted by @Scott Rogers :

The contractor knows hes going to be paid because he can do a Mechanics lean on the property.

I would only do this if I was directly paying the supplier and the supplies were delivered straight to the job site.  

Perhaps thats good in a long term view, but it costs money and no timeline of when you'll get paid.

In the long run, we're all dead. I would get a good contract and pay the 40%.