Milddle west winter damaged pipes

9 Replies

A house was sitting on the market during this past long cold winter in the Midwest with no heat and utilities. I was told by the realtor that all the pipes broke as a result. Never lived in a place that snows in my whole life, would someone please share knowledge on how this happens and how much it would be to fix it?

It really depends on the type of piping? is it CPVC, copper, pex etc. The water line usually will only break in a few spots from what i've seen it shouldn't be to hard to fix but there's a lot of variables. Pipe repairs can cost $400 to $7000 for a full repipe in Seattle area.

Iv'e only ever seen the water lines break not the waste I'm a general contractor and my brother is a plumber i've seen a lot.

Hope this helped you a little

You also have to consider the cost to repair the damage caused by the water once things thaw out and your broken water lines are now allowing water to flow into the house.  This can include damaged hardwood floors, drywall and mold issues due to standing water.  

I recently checked out a house where the pipes froze over the winter and once the water started flowing again, there was so much of it that it caused some settling issues with the front porch!  Not to mention the damage to hardwood floors, cabinets and mold.

First, "all the pipes" have not broken.  Waste (drains) and vents pipes should not be affected.  Traps (sinks, tub) and toilets may be broken.  There are probably breaks in supply lines.  The trick is finding and fixing them.  And repairing the damage.  Its really impossible to estimate.  I have one house that suffered freezing damage before I bought it.  Fixing it involved cutting sheetrock, repairing pipes, then fixing the sheetrock.  OTOH, if it floods a basement, damage could be extensive.  I've seen that, too.

I bought a large 4 bedroom one like that years ago & it was a mess.