Philip Adeleye
  • Chicago, IL
Votes |
Condos as long term rentals

Philip Adeleye
  • Chicago, IL
Posted Oct 1 2014, 08:54

Hello All,

My name is Phil, a real estate investor in the Chicago/Central Illinois area. I am relatively new to BP but have already learned a ton from the forums and podcasts. I am considering purchasing a condo in central Illinois to use for long term rental income. Are there any disadvantages to purchasing a condo instead of a house aside from the HOA dues (FYI HOA dues in this case only cover snow and lawn maintenance)? Additionally are there any benefits?

Any advice is much appreciated.

Thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Jeremy Zindel
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Decatur, IL
Votes |
  • Decatur, IL
Replied Oct 1 2014, 09:57

Hey @Philip Adeleye 

First off, welcome to BP

Second, what market central Illinois market are you considering for you condo investment?  Just curious because I'm in Decatur.

As far as HOAs and condos go, the first thing you should check is to see if the there are any rental use restrictions at the complex you are considering, if you haven't already.

The other big thing that comes to mind is still regarding the HOA. Just be prepared for assessments for improvements/maintenance to the building exterior or the complex in general as these would be lump sum amounts due on top of your monthly HOA fee.

User Stats

Votes
Jesse Waters
  • Investor
  • Aiken, SC
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Aiken, SC
Replied Oct 1 2014, 10:07

@Philip Adeleye Welcome to BP.

Personally I tend to avoid HOA's when ever possible. They then to be more trouble than benefit. It seems the more you have to pay them, the more rules you have and the more you have someone else minding your business for you.

The condo association may have either a suggested "soft" cap on the number of rentals they allow, or hard cap in the POA/HOA by-laws. I have run into a few that also put a cap on the rent's you could charge.