Crazy idea or good idea?

11 Replies

Hi everyone!  I'm new to real estate and BP.  I'd love to hear your opinions about this....

First, let me set the stage.

My boyfriend and I live in Fresno, CA.  We both have solid full time jobs in construction - I build elevators and he's a plumber - with no intention of leaving our positions anytime soon.  My credit is excellent and his is above average.  We have minimal debt and an emergency fund established. 

We are interested in long term buy and hold multiple family properties as passive income for retirement.  Given that our first loan via traditional financing methods will probably be the best deal from the banks we will ever be able to get, is it a good idea to go big on our first purchase?  By "go big" I mean a 10-20 unit, maybe bigger, rental property.

The logical part of my brain says this is a good idea, but it is definitely a nerve wracking way to start investing given the multitude of ways this could go horribly wrong.

What are your thoughts?

No, that won't work... it won't matter if you occupy it as it won't qualify for a homeowner loan.  4 units is your limit.

I believe you can start with a 4 plex and eventually transition to 8 plexes etc...  

Hi @Amelia Kayes  and welcome to BP.  What @Tim Bishop  said above is absolutely true.  Anything that is 1-4 units is considered as residential but once you go above 4 units it is all considered commercial property so it won't matter whether you live there or not.

Can you handle 10-20 units?  If you can, if you can get a commercial loan, if you can come up the minimum down payment and if you still have cash reserves to get you through tough times then it's a great idea.  I don't know you but that seems unlikely, I think you've got the right mindset though and I bet if you get a good start on a good property (that you can qualify for) and soak in all you can here on BP, then you can and likely will make it work!