Buy and hold

8 Replies

Hello James Sotipalalit here. For all my experienced buy and hold investors. I have a question I seen a property for $168,000 and a great opportunity for my first buy and hold property. But here is the issue I have just been recently laid off and I have only about $10,000 dollars. Is there a way I can still obtain this property somehow with no job and only 10K? Please experienced investors I want to know how to get this property in my situation. God bless.

What is your plan?  It doesn't sound like you have one....

Frank R

Do you have some numbers to associate with your "great opportunity"?

Originally posted by @Frank Romine :

What is your plan?  It doesn't sound like you have one....

Frank R

Well my plan is to have someone rent it out because right now it's below market value. 

I'm still new to this business so what type of numbers I know the market value is 215k and they're selling for 168k. It's a wholesaler. 

@James Sotipalalit  , for buy and hold, the discount to market value isn't as important as it is for flipping.  It's more important that the rental income more than covers all expenses including your financing costs so you can make a profit.

So, how do those numbers look?

Originally posted by @Brett Russell :

@James Sotipalalit , for buy and hold, the discount to market value isn't as important as it is for flipping.  It's more important that the rental income more than covers all expenses including your financing costs so you can make a profit.

So, how do those numbers look?

1.  That's make so much sense. I feel dumb for saying that but I definitely want this property but the problem is laid off and only 10k cash on hand.