Suing seller who backed out of contract

51 Replies

I had a property under contract and the closing documents were sent to the seller and she seems to be refusing to sign and return. She is ignoring phone calls and clearly avoiding me.

I'm certain that she's changed her mind and seems to think if she ignores me, I'll disappear.

The contract agreement stated that I, the buyer would pay all legal and closing costs.

Thus far I've accrued over $2000 in costs for legal fees, title search and sight survey. The closing attorney told me to sue for costs in the small claims court. Are there any other costs/damages I sue for?

Has anyone else ever had a similar experience?

In my experience it comes down to whether or not you have a signed a legally binding purchase and sale agreement. Basically (in MA) you are spending money at your own risk until you have a written binding agreement. Im not a lawyer nor do I know your state specific laws but without a signed agreement you are out of luck. Can you provide any more details? 

Yes, but deals fall through all the time.  That is the way most investors create customer relationships so that if a buyer walks you can pitch the deal to several other buyers as a backup.

I've never heard of suing for cost/damages. If you choose to go forward with in (personally I would not sue) , spend double the amount of time finding a new buyer.

It all depends on what you had her agree to in the contract.  In your state there may have been conditions in the contract about specific performance and liquidated damages.  I would think the seller would be liable for specific performance where you could get your costs back and possibly sue to get her to finish the contract.  It all depends on how far you want to go.  Again though it really comes down to what you had in writing.

Dan Mackin, Real Estate Agent in CO (#FA.100056958)
720-971-7139
Originally posted by @Nat Chan :