• Real Estate Investor
  • Brooklyn, NY
Votes |
House Hacking in NYC/NJ/CT area

Jermaine McIntosh
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Brooklyn, NY
Posted May 24 2015, 12:52

Hey BP family, I'm new to real estate investing and was interested in starting to invest through house hacking. I currently live in an owner-occupied duplex in NYC and would like to purchase another duplex/triplex as an owner occupant in the NYC/NJ/CT area. My price range at the moment is 400K and would like to know if there are any duplexes/triplexes within the NYC metro area with potential for generous cashflow? If not, does anyone know of other areas outside of NYC with decent duplexes/triplexes?

Thanks BP family

User Stats

Votes
Aaron Montague
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Brookline, MA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Brookline, MA
Replied May 24 2015, 13:13

@Jermaine McIntosh

Isn't Brooklyn the spot to be right now for triplexes that will make you a fortune as flips?

User Stats

Votes
Jermaine McIntosh
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Brooklyn, NY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Brooklyn, NY
Replied May 24 2015, 13:33

@Aaron Montague

I'm not sure if triplexes are in hot commodity for flips in Brooklyn but that's something I'll look into. I wasn't really thinking about flipping a house in Brooklyn but more so leaning towards buy and hold. Like doing some renovations on the triplex and increasing the rent.

Steadily logo
Steadily
|
Sponsored
America’s best-rated landlord insurance nationwide Quotes online in minutes. Single-family, fix n’ flips, short-term rentals, and more. Great prices.

User Stats

Votes
Jerry Padilla
Lender
#5 Classifieds Contributor
  • Lender
  • Rochester, NY
Votes |
Lender
  • Lender
  • Rochester, NY
Replied May 24 2015, 15:49

@Jermaine McIntosh 

Do you currently have an FHA mortgage? To purchase using conventional you will have to still have to put down a significant down payment.