• Houston, TX
Votes |
Saved up $15K... What should I do?

Account Closed
  • Investor
  • Houston, TX
Posted Jul 6 2015, 17:03

Hey BPer's

I'm a newbie investor who has educated himself through books. REIA meetings, and Biggerpockets podcasts and blogs.

I've been able to save up $15K and I am ready to take action. 

I am interested in two niches specifically.

Wholesaling for instant cash flow and small multi-family/single-family for appreciation and long term cash flow. Then finally apartments.

I am in the Houston market which is on fire right now

My question is for seasoned/experienced investors. What would you do if you had $15K to invest?

User Stats

Votes
Jonathan Bonck
  • Investor
  • Houston, TX
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Houston, TX
Replied Jul 7 2015, 09:08

HI @Account Closed

I would think about growing your savings about another $10K. For me starting out I am looking at SFH. I want quality products in order to attract quality tenants. I don't want my first couple of acquisitions to cause issues. Down the road I plan to leverage more and take more risk. .So I would think about buying your first SFH but looking to put down 20-25%. That would require about $25-30K with closing cost included. Remember, your first deal is a building block for your next deal.

Account Closed
  • Investor
  • Houston, TX
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Houston, TX
Replied Jul 7 2015, 18:22

Thanks for the advice @Jonathan Bonck

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Marquise Crampton
  • Investor
  • York, PA
Votes |
  • Investor
  • York, PA
Replied Jul 7 2015, 18:28