Do you use a realtor?

10 Replies

I am just starting out looking at properties. I am not quite ready to buy as I do not have the cash readily available for a down payment, however I am still looking at properties just to practice analysis...and it's just fun! I do not have MLS access, so at the moment I am just looking at realtor.com and Zillow. I'm wondering if the general consensus is to use a realtor, what the pros and cons are, and what to look for in a realtor.

Thank you!

I usually just talk to the listing agent of the property I'm interested in.  I'd involve a realtor later when you are ready to buy or sell.

As a buyer, we always use our own realtor, since the seller pays the commission. Good luck.

I only use a realtor when necessary. If I find a property on the MLS then I use my own realtor and never use the selling agent. When using the sellers agent they have a responsibility to the seller not the buyer. Also, when searching the MLS I use a realtor because there is nothing better then spending time with a realtor to understand if they are a good fit for you.