Account Closed
  • Roslyn, NY
Votes |
Are modern style houses better?

Account Closed
  • Roslyn, NY
Posted Oct 29 2016, 14:34

Hey guys,

I'm about to make my first purchase for a property to live in and settle in. I plan to do more REI in the future but this is a home I WANT TO MAKE NICE. So I've always been in love with modern style houses (square shaped and boxy looking kind of). I've always wondered why I barely see any of them around. In my opinion they look so beautiful and professional. I'm also a tech guy so i'm into futuristic concepts. Maybe thats why. Is it more expensive for the materials? Harder to maintain? Expensive to find someone to design?

These are some examples:

http://homedesignlover.com/architecture/latest-modern-house-designs/

User Stats

Votes
Rosston Smith
  • Investor
  • Warner Robins, GA
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Warner Robins, GA
Replied Oct 29 2016, 15:41

The modern style would definitely keep it current longer.

Just be wary of improving too far over that you could sell it for.

User Stats

Votes
Anthony Gayden
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Omaha, NE
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Omaha, NE
Replied Oct 29 2016, 15:48

@Account Closed

Personally I am not a fan, but in some parts of the country it is very popular. I believe there are huge developments in this style in California.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Patsy Waldron
  • Orlando, FL
Votes |
  • Orlando, FL
Replied Oct 29 2016, 16:02