What to do if termites are found during inspection

10 Replies

Hello BiggerPockets community! I'm a newbie who is itching to buy my first small multifamily to house-hack. I have never bought a house before. I am currently renting. I put an offer in on a duplex close to where I live and it was accepted. After the inspection I found out there was termite damage and cockroaches in one of the units. Is this a deal breaker or what should I do from here? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Termites, what kind? how extensive? dry rot, financing type? in West Coast it is found on 98% of the properties. Only a fraction will treat them because of cost. Tenting will kill cockroach and surface termites but not their eggs or sub type several feet under ground. Every 3 month you deal with another batch roaches....

If you are first timer suggest your seller take care them and start looking at others that do not have such problem.

If you are in a due diligence period you can still walk away.  You can negotiate the seller make repairs, or you can close on the deal and make repairs at a later time.  Be weary on the extensiveness of the problem, and listen to the professionals opinion so you can make the most informed decision.  

Thank you for the response, guys.

Sam- I am not sure of the type of termites. I have not gotten the official inspection report, but the inspector told my girlfriend that the termites had tunneled into the carport and most likely into the house. I am definitely still looking around for another deal. 

Trenton- If the seller won't repair, but I can get him to negotiate a lower purchase price, what would be a reasonable number to ask? I'm assuming it depends on the extent of the damage but I'm not sure how much termite treatment costs. 

Is it possible to get rid of roaches and termites permanently or are they always going to be a problem at this property?