Numbers - Do they matter when the deal is overwhelmingly good?

25 Replies

I had a deal that went south for one of my clients.  I personally thought the deal was a home run but my clients had another view.  Numbers not aligning was the deciding factor for them.  I'm not a pushy realtor and never will be.  The deal just seemed so great from my end and totally shocked me when they backed out.  

Can someone please explain why numbers are so important. 

Cashflow was great as the properties were.  Yes they needed repairs but they didn't need them right away.

How do you know a deal is overwhelmingly good without numbers?  Isn't it the numbers that determine if a deal is good or not? 

@Austin Fruechting I know this because I’m a realtor in the area.  When the rents on the 6  units bring in 4K and it has low taxes, no water or sewer bill because it’s on a well(3 total) and 2 brand new self cleaning septic fields.  Fully occupied with long term tenants. Yes they need repairs but the seller was offering seller financing ( land contract) with only 15 k down and 1500 a month payment with a 5 year ballon.  You’re not making 2500 after payments. 

They’re more concerned about repairs to add value (for refinancing purposes) 

I get it you want to be able to refinance but wouldn’t you rather gain 6 income or producing units? 

I think that’s  a good deal.  

What is your definition of overwhelmingly good. Do you invest in income properties yourself.

Maybe your numbers are wrong.

What was the price of the property?  Give us all the numbers so we can analyze and provide proper feedback.

If numbers are not good - it's nothing.

We have plenty of deals which look good but not everyone is taking on them.

For me, personally, I wouldn't buy septic tank and well for investment - it could cost you fortune if need repairs or replacement.

Cash flow might be good until you do all it takes to fix the deferred maintenance.

To know the answer, you have to get the numbers: