Analyzing a property for profit

3 Replies

I’m new to REI and still doing research to find my first property. Looking for a house hack. When running the numbers I am having difficulty plugging in the rent, tax, and water/sewer numbers. This is because that information is not readily available. I have looked up taxes via the county assessment but it’s not very easy to follow or maybe I just don’t understand how to read it. Do you just call the agent listed for the property on a place like Zillow to find these answers? It’s making running the numbers a big guessing game and it’s quite frustrating!

Daniel,

House hack is a great way to start.  I did a duplex, where I lived, for my first deal a long time ago and it was a very good learning experience (and a little profitable). 

In my experience, most agents aren't going to be helpful here (some exceptions).

You can ballpark these things after getting some data:

Rent:  use the sites  you think you're future tenant will use to find you as a landlord (Zillow, Rent.com, a big property manager in your area, Craigslist) and look for similar places in similar neighborhoods.  The rent will narrow down to a range and that's where you'll be.

Property Tax:  in most places there's a county tax + a city tax.  In Charlotte, for example, it's something like .85% for the county + .45% for the city, or 1.3%.  That means for a house the government assesses as being worth $100,000, they hit you with a $1,300 per year tax bill.   You can get this number straight from the county government website, property by property. 

Water/Sewer:  Best way to ask people a few people in the area "what's  your water bill?  how many people in  your home?".  I ballpark this number in Charlotte to be around $30 for the 1st person, +$15 per additional person.