Skip to content
Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
Justin Eaton
  • Engineer
  • Magnolia, NJ
Votes |
Home Inspector vs. Flipper BEEF! (with pics!)

Justin Eaton
  • Engineer
  • Magnolia, NJ
Posted Jun 27 2018, 19:15

Hello BP world!  

I have been considering writing an article on this topic for some time, so here goes. 

Full disclosure: I am an active real estate investor who has performed various flips and I own some rental properties. I work full time as a licensed home inspector and structural engineer in the state of NJ. I have performed over 800 home inspections over the last 5 years and over 200 structural evaluations. 

The BEEF: Quality of flipped properties 

About 15-20% of the home inspections that i perform are on houses which have been flipped by other real estate investors. I have seen a fair share of quality flips, however, a lot of them are JUNK! I honestly feel like some of the homes become worse after some of these investors/contractors perform the renovations. The problem is, other than permit approvals from the township (which most of the time are not obtained), there is no one other than the home inspector checking the work that the investors/contractors are performing. I find that most of the flip remodels consist of kitchen, bath, flooring, and paint, while the big ticket items that actually improve the quality of the home and prolong the life of the property are ignored such as roof, structural, mechanicals, and hidden items in crawl spaces and attics (water penetrations, mold, termite, etc). I would say that deals fall through on about 50% of the inspections that i perform on flipped properties because of these big ticket item being neglected by the flippers. Often times, when i find that the big ticket items are skipped over, the quality of the finishes is also poor and in turn is a reflection of the investor.