Rentals in rough neighborhood

13 Replies

I am new to the REI industry but I have educated myself with as much as I can possibly to at least get me to my first deal. Me and my partner have a few properties that we are in the negotiation phase with. We don't feel as though these properties would work for fix and flip investors mainly because of the area but we are thinking of negotiating seller finance and putting about 3k into repairs and using them as rentals. Our monthly cash flow looks to be about $275 for the first 6 years or less time and then we are looking at $475/monthly cash flow. Any ideas or suggestions

What happens at 6 years that boosts your cash flow  $200/month?

Maybe I don’t understand ..What is your question specifically about ?

After 2 years the loan will be paid and I will own the home free and clear.

Not so much a question as me wanting any past experiences with rentals in a rough area.

Turnover rates are higher, chasing money can be the norm, units are usually turned back in rougher condition, vandalism, etc, etc. Get very familiar with the eviction process in your market and follow things to the letter and quickly.

Make sure to vet tenants thoroughly and pick wisely (and even then it is a gamble). 

But these properties can be profitable and if you keep the properties up you will be able to secure better and better tenants over time.

In a sentence

As an investor You have to be as savage as the people who live in these areas

@Arreanna Cromartie ,

First you have to determine if it's a "rough" neighborhood or a working class neighborhood. Is it a place where people are making very little money and have none left over, or is it a place where there are open air drug deals during the day and cars broken into every night?  There is a difference.