Is Pittsburgh market good for investors?

24 Replies

Hi

I am considering to invest/build large portfolio of SHF and thinking about the Pittsburgh area due to the Hi return and other strong economic factors.

I recently read contradictory views on the feasibility of investing in Pittsburgh, despite very good economic factors in the area.

I would love to have the opinions of those who know the Pittsburgh market very well.

Thanks.

LIved here my whole life and watched the City change and grow.  And I work in the industry...happy to share if you wish via phone.

@Alon Gilmore I'm making money here so it gets my approval. Cash flow is solid and there are a ton of gentrifying areas seeing some good appreciation. City is reinventing itself. Lots of neighborhoods are very street by street but if you know the areas there is a lot of opportunity for sure. 

I moved here from Denver (crazy hot and crazy expensive market) 3 yrs ago. Before that I lived in south FL...I am a remodeling contractor and haven't had to advertise for the past year and a half. There is so much construction going on in what seems like every area in Pittsburgh. It's very affordable to live here, it's the friendliest place I've ever lived, and we fully intend on buying rentals for long term cashflow once I get more educated. There are alot of tech companies setting up here too, which means a higher income demographic. 

Originally posted by @Aaron Froggatt :

@John Theriault

Wabash, PA? That’s interesting. Is that an actual independent jurisdiction?

AF

Haha I don't know where Wabash is, not sure why it shows that as my location! I live in Upper St Clair though, and generally my projects are in the south hills, north side, and within 10 miles radius from downtown.