Skip to content
Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes

Is it realistic to buy real estate in the DMV area for sub-300?

Posted Feb 11 2020, 09:09

Hello,

I'm new to the DC MD VA area and am looking to buy this year. I have $17k saved and have a tech sales job with $95k salary (80% base salary = $76k, 20%+ = bonuses and commission). I'm learning from forums like these to keep my housing costs less than 1/3 of my salary. Is it possible to buy something decent in this area for less than $300k? Feel free to share your experiences.

User Stats

Votes
Replied Feb 11 2020, 10:10

Absolutely! You certainly can find something in that price range, it is a pretty popular range as well.

User Stats

Votes
Russell Brazil
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Washington, D.C.
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Washington, D.C.
ModeratorReplied Feb 11 2020, 11:28

Sure....College Park, Hyattsville you can be under that price point and still be in a good location.

District Invest Group Logo
BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Chris Coleman
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Washington, DC
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Washington, DC
Replied Feb 11 2020, 11:31

@Chelsea Jean-Mary yes, you can find properties for under $300K.

Extend your search out into Prince William County, Fauquier, and down I-95 toward Stafford in NOVA.

Depending on your strategy, it can be a challenge to find good cash flow. You will likely need to buy low and do some renovations. But not necessarily distressed BRRRR.

There are plenty of investor-friendly realtors in the DMV who can help you find the right property.

User Stats

Votes
Danielle Gray
  • Realtor
  • Laurel, MD
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Laurel, MD
Replied Feb 11 2020, 11:36