Choosing a market - thoughts and recommendations?

18 Replies

Hello BP folks!

I am relatively new to real estate, specifically in the US market. I live in So Cal and have 3 properties in Toronto, Canada. My husband has been doing well with flipping homes to accelerate our cash savings. Our vision is to use these profits in addition to some cash saved aside and invest into buy and holds in the US. We have some ambitious goals to grow our portfolio through BRRRR, and I'm currently exploring markets for out of state real estate (So Cali is not an option!).

We are looking for RE under $100k that will cash flow positive and has some appreciation (but cash flow is priority). We are trying to decide whether we should go with a SFH or MFH as our first "get our feet wet" opportunity. But where I would love to get some advice is on WHERE to invest? Through some research and advice, I've come up with a few locations, but would love to get your thoughts on any of the below locations or others not included. I know I will have to take it further and narrow down the neighborhoods, but once I lock in my "where," I will look for some local agent support (will probably start with finding someone through referral or BP!):

- Columbus and Cleveland, Ohio

- Saint Louis, Missouri

- Phoenix, Arizona

- Kansas City

- Oklahoma City

Looking forward to hearing what you all have to say...!

Hi @Uzma Abdullah ,

You already have 3 properties, which is more than most people ever get!

Pick an area you feel comfortable betting your money on. It sounds like you did a lot of research to narrow down to these 5, and it's not a bad idea to diversify in different cities, instead of focusing on one.

Good luck!

I would suggest looking into Columbus. I have seen a lot of success in the multi-family industry especially. The job and population growth can attest to that and why it is considered a hot market right now. @Uzma Abdullah  

Originally posted by @Uzma Abdullah :