Real Estate Syndicating 101

25 Replies

I recently listened to Grant Cardone's most recent interview on the biggerpockets podcasts and found it very eye opening. 

I appreciated his thoughts on buying within a budget. Essentially, his point is why buy something that fits within the amount of capital you have to play with, rather use that capital to find partners and acquire more units. Why live within your budget constraint?

I have a substantial amount of capital available to invest and feel my best strategy is to partner up, however I need to learn the in's and out's of syndicating, how to structure it, what team is needed, ect.

I currently work as a broker in a niche (LIHTC - low income housing tax credit) segment of the real estate industry, so my knowledge is above basic, however syndicating and raising money are unfamiliar to me as I work on the sell side.

I am interested in B/C properties, 75-300 units, and value add through operational upside. As mentioned, I have capital however nothing that would allow a lender to execute a loan required for 75-300 units, nor do I have the experience that Fannie and Freddie are looking for to lend on out of state properties.

Advice, knowledge, criticism, patience and willingness to share their experiences with the process of syndicating or partnering up would be perfect and greatly appreciated. Also, if you have any interest in learning or acquiring within the LIHTC space, I can provide you with that knowledge/information as a kind gesture.

Thanks!

@Jared Carpenter there is a really good book about syndications by Gene Trowbridge. You can find it on Amazon and it will give you a good idea. 

Best option for you to partner with an experienced syndicator would be to find an off market deal and bring it to them. 

If you're in the business it should play right to your strength. 

Good luck!

Syndicating is great but not for the faint of heart.