Multi family investments in the Hudson Valley NY

35 Replies

Hi all, I'm new to BP and am looking for some advice investing in multi family properties in the Hudson Valley NY. I have cash to invest but I could burn through $200k fast in 25% down payments so the Brrrr concept would be ideal. I have spent a lot of time looking through the MLS listings online as well as working with an agent. Obviously these deals aren't abundant, I'm willing to put the time in. I'm just getting the feeling that this may be a difficult region to implement that strategy due to the high demand, municipal challenges, high prices and lack of invintory. Has anyone out there found success in this region?

Hey @Thomas Flint welcome. Hudson valley is tough. Just based on acquisition and carrying costs due to escrow, driven up by high taxes. However, if you go 3/4 units and can swing the acquisition, owner occupying, fixing the units and refinancing could work! I’d look at maybe investing where the $$s work, and live where you want. 

Good luck! 

I'm in the HV and it's tough right now.  I'm in the middle of a project now but they are very hard to come by at the moment.  You could look at Newburgh, but I'm still not convinced of the long term viability of that city (where I was born and raised).

I'm starting to consider outside of the state given the decline in population and terribly high taxes.

It is tough.  I bought my first multi 3 years ago in harriman.  Bought number 2 in walden 6 months ago.  Althought both decent deals - clearing me 1000/month apiece after expenses - theyre not home runs.  I too am trying to figure out how to invest out of state.  It seems like a daunting task for me - but hey so did buying my first one.  I've just got to figure it out.

Originally posted by @Bradley Miller :