What are the advantages of joining a Real-Estate Investment club?

20 Replies

Hello I am a real-estate investment newbie who's looking for the best way to learn and grow as an investor.

What are the benefits of joining a Real-Estate investment club? Are they useful for learning and connecting with investment partners or funding sources?

Or should I try to find a real-estate investment mentor?

I'm in Massachusetts and the rental market is booming and I'd like to find reliable resources to work with.

I recommend going to some local REI club meetings. While I have found that there are a lot of newbies at these meetings, there are also some very experienced people would enjoy talking 'shop'. I also enjoy going to listen to the guest speakers. These people are usually experts in law, REI'ing, taxes, etc. I live in Mass as well and have been to Boston AREIA and NEREIA. There are some out your way too - here's a link to most clubs in our area http://www.reiclub.com/real-estate-clubs/Massachusetts.html

Medium open letter marketing logoJustin Silverio, Open Letter Marketing LLC | [email protected] | (978) 269‑0245 | http://www.OpenLetterMarketing.com | Podcast Guest on Show #194

Hi Jutin, thank you for the info.

Did you learn more from a mentor or from REI clubs?

I'm looking for a means of learning and networking with hard money lenders. I'm in Worcester so some of those clubs on the list you sent don't seem to be active.

The rental market in my area is going up day by day, more people losing homes are renting apartments so I'm looking to get more involved.

I currently own two single family houses but I want to get into the apartment complexes.

I don't have a mentor so I can't speak on that. But I can say that I know a good amount of people that have met their mentors through REI clubs.