Skip to content
Multi-Family and Apartment Investing

User Stats

Votes
Harshil Patel
  • Phoenix, TX
Votes |
Is Phoenix, AZ is good city for Multifamily Investment?

Harshil Patel
  • Phoenix, TX
Posted Sep 18 2019, 13:50

I am moving to Phoenix AZ. I am looking for house hacking with multifamily property. I am new in the REI market. I have few questions regarding multifamily investment.

1) I am looking at the neighborhood which has crime rate high but same time cash flow is good. There is less crime rate area but little expensive and cashflow is low. I am leaning towards the less crime rate area with little expensive. Any thoughts?

2) How financing will work in this situation since I am going to apply the house hacking strategy? (Most of the cases while I was reading people have got the minimum 25% down.)

3) Is this right time to invest?

4) Which areas around phoenix are good for positive cashflow with property value appreciation?

5) According to you which numbers are more important while starting investment as a new?

6) Any good financing options or suggestion?

Any suggestion?

User Stats

Votes
Kris L.
  • San Antonio, TX
Votes |
  • San Antonio, TX
Replied Sep 18 2019, 14:56

@Harshil Patel

What scale of multi family were you looking to do? I gave Tempe and Mesa a glance but found there were very few 2-4 unit properties (which is the scale I am interested in), at any price, let alone that would cash flow +.

User Stats

Votes
Jonathan Orr
  • Developer
  • Boise ID
Votes |
  • Developer
  • Boise ID
Replied Sep 18 2019, 15:48

@Harshil Patel I have done a lot of investing and acquisitions in the Phoenix Metro and surrounding cities.  Great area and some great properties there.  It is a hot market so can be tough to find the right deal.  I was acquiring mostly 100+ unit Class A/B properties.  However, I do know people that have got smaller deals that are killer. 

In terms of markets, that really depends on what you are looking for and what you desire.