Ideas on Vacant land zoned for retail, office, ?

7 Replies

I have an opportunity to buy a tiny lot in a gentrifying neighborhood. The maximum density is 30 dwelling units per net acre. 

I've never done this before.... But I waited 10 years to get started w/my current investment so I do better just jumping in feet first.

I have one buy & hold property currently and one primary residence both in NorCal. I want to develop this lot into a live/work work apartment w/Retail on the ground. Anyone have any experience with this and could offer anything that I should expect. Or if anyone has any ideas or cool concepts they've run across. Thanks in advance.

I like your idea!  I'm only curious if you are ready for it.  Is this your first real estate deal?  Have you ever developed anything before?  I have not, but from what I have studied it takes quite a while and deep pockets (or a partner with deep pockets).  I think your best bet may be to find a developer that is like minded and partner with them.  Typically land value is around 20% of the value of property once finished, maybe you could bring the land to the table for a share of the proceeds.

Good, I'm not alone :)

@AndyBauman   

Thanks, but this won't be attractive enough for a partner. This will probably have to be my 'proof of concept'.

@RandolphKallenberg not sure what area you are in but I'd love to know if you put wheels in motion at some point. 

I'll keep you posted.

@Jay Sandefur Jr The process starts with meeting with the city to find out if you can do what you want to do. What your footprint is going look like based on setbacks, parking stormwater. etc.

You also need to ask about the entire process from site plan submission to final planning approval. How much for permits and how long.

You also need to speak with the utility companies to find out about electric, water, sewer, gas etc.