On the Phone or In Person

7 Replies

I am curious what the community thinks about negotiating deals over the phone versus an in person visit.  I typically deal with vacant houses that have been inherited so when I go see the property I typically do not see the seller there.  In our expansion plans for next year I trying to decide if I should hire 1 or 2 experienced sales professionals who are used to handling sale transactions over the phone, building rapport etc.... Or should I focus on 1 to 2 experienced sales people who are used to getting face to face appointments and closing the purchase agreement in person?  The phone seems more efficient but in person seems more effective.  It also seems like over the phone sales people would be less expensive than in person sale professionals.

Personally, I prefer 100% in person. I am new to real estate, but, for sales in general, definitely in-person.

You can tell so much more about a person by their body language. You miss out on that over the phone. You can see when they are nervous, you can see if they like the price you just offered or if you just shot them in the foot. You also get to show yourself, you get to show confidence via body language while in person. 

Yes, it is a bit more of a hassle to have to physically show up, but for me, I feel I will be 10x more successful if I negotiate in-person. It gives me a confidence that I sometimes seem to lack when on the phone.

Originally posted by @Jerry Gurley :